Global Friends

Wednesday, September 7, 2016

Family Experience at Fort Magruder

During our short summer vacation in Williamsburg, Virginia, we chose to book at Fort Magruder Hotel and Conference Center.   We chose them because  it includes free breakfast.  We all know how  expensive it is to eat out  in tourist areas, so we figured we can save by eating breakfast there.  We also like how clean and beautiful  it is based on the photos at their website.  
 So when we got there, we were kind of confused  when we checked in because the hotel is currently undergoing renovation.  The ad that we saw  did not mention of any current renovation so we were kind of  disappointed of what we ground out.  I mean, they are still accepting  travelers but inside the hotel, it's  not really in a tip top shape.
 I mean when you look  outside, it was beautiful but as soon as you come in, you will see the carpets with duct tape on it and smells like pure bleach!  As we checked in, the lady told us that  breakfast is not complimentary and we were like, "what?"
I was hoping that when we get to the hotel rooms, our  disappointment will stop but it continues.  The mattresses of the beds are sagging in the middle so it was very uncomfortable to sleep in.  You can also hear the  next rooms noises, ugh, it was a nightmare.  
 I immediately check the  bathroom and hoping that it was clean, the sink is okay and we have plenty of towels so that was a good thing.
 As I inspected  the shower, it was  gross.  They need to clean  those bathrooms really bad.  You can see the  pink and black stuff growing in the tiles and in the  shower..
It would have been nice if they mentioned in their website that they are currently renovating the place.  The other thing I didn't like is the complimentary breakfast they were advertising, it is completely deceiving! Oh another thing, they did not disclose that the  outdoor pool was closed!  If I were to rate them from 1 to 5, I'll give them 1 for not being honest.  

22 comments:

  1. Nice because it is kid friendly and looks like a peaceful place to stay in as well. :)

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. It was a disappointment actually. It was dirty and not as beautiful as advertised!

      Delete
  2. Oh no! I absolutely HATE it when hotel pull the old switch-a-roo on you! I've been in this position before, as well. It's a total bummer because it's not what was advertised AND you're basically stuck there. =(

    ReplyDelete
  3. My goodness. I appreciate this info because we are making plans for a Virginia trip next year. This reminds me of a beach vacation we had a few years ago. It's such a disappointment to get so excited about a vacation then have a bad experience.

    ReplyDelete
  4. OH WOW! What a terrible place! I would have not stayed there! That is disgusting! I would be talking to the manager and tweeting about it everywhere!

    ReplyDelete
  5. Thank you for your truthful review and information about your accommodations. I have stayed at places that advertise untruthfully and it's so discouraging and depressing when you are looking forward to a nice vacation.

    ReplyDelete
  6. I'm sorry you had such a poor experience here at this hotel. A clean bathroom is essential when staying at a hotel. They really should have gotten those tiles cleaned!

    ReplyDelete
  7. Sorry it didn't turn out how you were hoping. It's always no fun when things aren't like you expect them to be.

    ReplyDelete
  8. I am so glad you were able to go, sometimes even when things don't turn out as planned they can be a lesson learned for next time :) Hugs!

    ReplyDelete
  9. I hate when I'm all excited to stay at a hotel and it turns out to be not at all what it was advertised to be. That stuff in the bathroom is gross. When you made the reservation, they should have told you that the place was under renovations. That still does not explain the state of the bathroom. So sorry!

    ReplyDelete
  10. I am sorry you had a bad experience. I hate when you have high expectations and they fall flat on providing what they offer. I would have been taking it up with management and not paying. The bathroom shower is nasty.

    ReplyDelete
  11. Wow. I am so sorry you had such a bad time. IO hate when you pay for bad service.

    ReplyDelete
  12. That is horrible, like you when I check into a hotel I do an inspection. If it isn't clean then I'm calling the front desk. I can't do dirty or nasty, I just can't.

    ReplyDelete
  13. Wow! That is completely unacceptable! Did you call their main office and complain? There is no way I would tolerate that. They either owe you a voucher for another stay when the hotel is completely renovated, or, they need to refund your money.

    I understand that when you have children with you, it's hard to have that type of discussion with the hotel staff, but, yeah. Call their main office immediately and complain.

    ReplyDelete
  14. Yes I agree with the others..thank you for sharing this truthful post about your experience. I hate when that happens! That is not cool.

    ReplyDelete
  15. wow--what a dissappointment! sorry to hear that you didn't get what you expected. I hope that they offered some service recovery to make up for their less than stellar accomadations!

    ReplyDelete
  16. Oh no! That must have been horrible. I would have been so upset. Sorry it turned out that way.

    ReplyDelete
  17. I am so sorry you had a less than stellar time. I would call to speak with the manager or maybe even call corporate to express your dissatisfaction.

    ReplyDelete
  18. The place looks really clean and nice but no free breakfast?? a bit disappointing.

    ReplyDelete
  19. Hello Chubskulit Rose,

    Thank you for choosing Fort Magruder Hotel and Conference Center for your family's travel needs. I am very disappointed to hear of your experience last weekend and even more disappointed that we were unable to rectify any of these problems for you before you checked-out. We are currently undergoing a full-scale multi-million dollar renovation and we are trying to do everything we can to prevent it from affecting the guest experience. We begin our guest room renovation this winter and will be replacing all of our mattresses and linens, upgrading our televisions, and doing a complete decor overhaul. Trust that your next experience at our hotel will be a completely different one. We would love the opportunity to win you back. Would you be so kind as to reach out to me directly with your name or room number so we may address the deficiencies in your room that you outlined in your posting? I can be reached at Fort.Magruder@crestlinehotels.com.

    Thank you,
    Felicia
    Guest Services Ambassador
    Fort.Magruder@crestlinehotels.com

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. We have sent you an email. Please let us know when you receive it.

      Delete
  20. Sorry to hear about your unfortunate experience at Fort Magruder. Sometimes, businesses are like that. They will never disclose the "ugly" stuff just to earn money.

    ReplyDelete

I love comments so leave me a line or two and I will follow your trail and comment back.

About Me

My photo

A work-at-home-mom (WAHM) with  two  lovely kids and a loving husband.  Passionate in writing about  family, product reviews, and  other related articles.  A Mom, a Wife,  a Blogger/Writer, rolled into one.

AddThis

Copyright © 2010 Etcetera Etcetera | Re-Design :Dhemz and Ryanne | Images: Pit-Tux